Letter to AJ

Hi AJ,

I’m pretty sure you’re not going to remember the things I’m telling you right now, so I decided to write them down. Hopefully Evernote still exists in 18 years so you can read these. (If not, I’ll see if they still make this thing called “paper” at that point.)

You’re only three months old right now, but you should know that in three short months, you have changed my life.

You have made me love more deeply. More genuinely. I didn’t know that I could love anything the way that I love you.

You have made me a better Christian. John 3:16 means so much more to me now that I have my only son.

I have no doubt that you are amazing and special and have unlimited potential.

The problem is that some day, I’m going to forget to tell you how amazing you are. But the world won’t forget to tell you that it thinks that you’re not special, that you don’t have value, and that you’re just another face in the crowd. You’ll get down, depressed even, and start wondering if all those things the world tells you are true.

I hope in those times that you remember that regardless of what anybody thinks of you, that just by existing you changed your daddy’s life.

I love you.

Author: Oscar S.

My name is Oscar. I'm a husband to a beautiful wife, and I have four amazing children.

Leave a Reply

