Is Jesus Our Role Model: Loving God

When Jesus was asked what the greatest commandment was, He replied that the greatest commandment was to love God.

He answered, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Luke 10:27 NIV)

All of my heart.  All of my soul.  All of my strength.  All of my mind.  That about sums it up.  That’s all of me.  But what does loving God with all of me even look like?

My wife and I just celebrated six months of marriage about a week ago, so it’s really easy to remember our engagement.  And I can remember that as the time wound down, the wedding was on my mind almost all of the time.  A huge chunk of my life – a very large percentage – was dedicated to making sure that I was ready for that big day.

I mean … sure … I was still going to work and doing what I needed to do every day, but my entire life was focused on the wedding.   It was all I was thinking of.  I was dieting and losing weight and making arrangements… just making sure I was ready for that big day.

And Jesus calls us – the church – His bride.  We should have that mindset.

What does loving God, with all of you, look like in your life?

Author: Oscar S.

My name is Oscar. I'm a husband to a beautiful wife, and I have four amazing children.

Leave a Reply

